top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

2020 All Australian team announced

Nic Naitanui, Brad Shepperd, Liam and Luke Ryan have been selected in the 2020 All-Australian team, announced on Thursday night.

Naitanui was named as the starting All-Australian ruckman, his second AA jumper and first since 2012 in his first full season since 2015, overcoming two serious knee injuries to reclaim status as the game’s premier ruckman.

The 30-year-old ranked third in the league for average hitouts (29.44) and fourth for total hitouts (477). He also finished fourth in overall clearances per game in 2020, a remarkable effort from the 202 cm big man.

Shepperd was rewarded for another outstanding season with his maiden All-Australian selection, rarely beaten in one on one marking contests and one of a number of premier intercept mark players in the Eagles back six.

Liam Ryan’s late season form surge saw him selected in a forward pocket next to Coleman Medallist Tom Hawkins, the Cats star named at full-forward.

Ryan kicked 25 goals as he played all 17 games in blue and gold, ranked sixth in the league for total score involvements, 11th for total marks inside 50 and 12th in total goals scored in the 2020 season.

Ryan’s namesake at Fremantle Luke Ryan was recognised for his outstanding season for the Dockers as he was named in the opposite back pocket to Shepperd.

As well as shutting down the opposition’s tallest opponents, Ryan continued to provide his usual rebound with an AFL-leading 113 rebound 50s - 17 more than any other AFL player. He was also one of Fremantle’s best ball users by foot with a kicking efficiency of 83.3 per cent and his rebound led to an average of 409 metres gained, which led Freo and ranked seventh in the AFL.

Eagle Andrew Gaff and Dockers skipper Nat Fyfe and key forward Matt Taberner missed selection in the final 22, with Patrick Dangerfield named All-Australian captain, having been named in the side for an eighth time in his career which began in 2009.

Travis Boak was named vice-captain, one of three Power players selected as the equal most represented club along with Western Bulldogs, Geelong and West Coast.

IMAGE: Fox Sports.


bottom of page