top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

Aussies are the T20 World Champions

Australia are World T20 champions after defeating New Zealand by eight-wickets in Dubai.

Mitch Marsh finished 77 not out in a man of the match performance as the Aussies chased down the target of 173 in the 18th over.

David Warner was named player of the tournament, capping off his tournament with a 38 ball 53 to kick start the Australian innings.

Earlier in the night Josh Hazlewood was the star with the ball claiming three wickets in New Zealand's 4-172.

It's Australia's first triumph in the T20 tournament and will start short priced favourites for the next event in just 12-months time down under.


bottom of page