• SportFM

Aussies name squad for Ashes opener

Australian selectors have named a 15-player squad for the first two Ashes Tests that begin next month.

The standout note the inclusion of Usman Khawaja who has not played since the third Ashes Test at Headingley in 2019.

It's expected Khawaja will fight with South Australian Travis Head for who will be the right fit for number five in the batting order.

Marcus Harris is likely to open while Cameron Green fills the all-rounder spot at number six.

Squad: Tim Paine (c), Pat Cummins (vc), David Warner, Marcus Harris, Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Cameron Green, Nathan Lyon, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson and Mitchell Swepson.

The selectors have also named an 11-player Australia A squad that will train alongside the Ashes squad on the Gold Coast and play in a "probables v possible's" match leading into the opening Test.

Aus A squad: Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Henry Hunt, Josh Inglis, Nic Maddinson, Mitchell Marsh, Matt Renshaw, Mark Steketee and Bryce Street.