top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

Australia finalise white ball squads

Australia's selectors have settled on an 18 man squad for white ball tours of the Caribbean and Bangladesh, with several stars set to miss the series just months from the T20 World Cup.

Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, David Warner, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Jhye Richardson and Kane Richardson have all confirmed their withdrawals leaving coach Justin Langer without seven of his best players four months out from the T20 World Cup.

Smith continues to battle an elbow injury, while the others asked not to be considered for various reasons, Cricket Australia said in a statement.

"We are naturally disappointed not to have all players available for the Australian team at this time however the NSP (National Selection Panel) respects the decisions of those who have opted out of this tour," head selector Trevor Hohns said in a statement.

"Steve Smith was unavailable for selection due to an elbow injury and will now be able to use this time to fully recover ahead of the World Cup and home Ashes series. Steve was disappointed to miss the tour with the decision made on medical grounds."

Also in the final squad are allrounder Dan Christian and batsman Ben McDermott, who are both currently in hotel quarantine in Australia having recently arrived from county stints in the UK. Christian had headed to England from India after the IPL was suspended.

Uncapped duo Tanveer Sangha and Nathan Ellis will both travel with the squad having been named as touring reserves.

Today's announcement means Australia will face the Windies (for five T20s and three ODIs) and Bangladesh (likely for five T20s) without four members of their top six and three of their leading fast bowlers.

Those seven players are likely to be at the World Cup later this year, meaning the tour represents a golden opportunity for those on the fringe to force their way into the squad for the showpiece event.

The Australians will fly to the West Indies on June 28, meaning the IPL contingent will have less than a month at home before heading abroad again.

The tours of the Caribbean and Bangladesh will be followed by another 14 days of hotel quarantine upon arrival back in Australia before the national team heads overseas again ahead of the T20 World Cup in October.

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Wes Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Dan Christian, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa. Travelling reserves: Nathan Ellils, Tanveer Sangha.

IMAGE: Cricket Australia.


bottom of page