top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

Australia name Test and T20 squads

Ten West Australians have been selected across the Test and Twenty20 Australian squads for tours of South Africa and New Zealand respectively, confirmed by selectors on Wednesday.

38 players have been picked across the two squads, nineteen players in each because of strict coronavirus protocols for both tours, the South Africa tour yet to be officially ticked off by both Cricket Australia and Cricket South Africa but likely to commence in early March.

Cameron Green is the sole WA player in the Test squad, having made a bright first impression in the Test series that concluded last week against India, scoring 236 runs at 33.71 with a maiden half century at the SCG in the Third Test.

Nine WA born players were picked in the T20 white ball tour for New Zealand, including Scorchers Andrew Tye, Jason Behrendorff, Mitch Marsh, Ashton Turner, Jhye Richardson and Ashton Agar (passed fit to play) all selected, while Josh Philippe, D'Arcy Short and Marcus Stoinis also made the touring party for a five match T20 series across the Tasman.

Matthew Wade has been dropped from the Test squad after failing to pass 50 in his last 16 Test innings, only scoring 173 runs at 21.26 against India. He was instead selected in the T20 squad as one of three wicket keeping options along with Ben McDermott and Philippe.

Alex Carey was named in the Test squad for the first time, identified as the heir apparent to current Australian captain and gloveman Tim Paine, also a candidate to take Wade's spot at number five playing purely as a batsman.

Will Pucovski has been passed fit to tour South Africa should the series go ahead, Marcus Harris also named after playing the fourth Test against India at the Gabba.

Queensland quick Mark Steketee has been included as a reserve bowling option along with James Pattinson, Michael Neser and Sean Abbott, WA speedster Richardson missing out on the Test squad instead included in the white ball tour to New Zealand.

Travis Head has a chance to win back his Test spot by being named in the South African touring party, Mitchell Starc included despite a poor finish to the India series.

The T20 squad will fly out to New Zealand early next month before serving two weeks quarantine, able to practice during that time in preparation for the series.

The Test squad is likely leave in mid February, with the hope of playing a round of Sheffield Shield fixtures before the touring party flies out for the series which is likely to start in early March.

T20I squad Aaron Finch (capt), Matthew Wade (vc), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Daniel Sams, Tanveer Sangha, D'Arcy Short, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa

Test squad Tim Paine (capt), Pat Cummins (vc), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

IMAGE: Cricket Australia.


bottom of page