top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

Australian domestic schedule revealed

The Australian domestic summer will return to a full schedule after two compromised seasons, with the 2022-23 season fixture released on Wednesday.

All states will play ten Sheffield Shield matches with five home and five away matches, the first class competition set to commence on 3rd October with reigning champions Western Australia to host New South Wales at the WACA.

The Sheffield Shield will return to a full complement of matches after each state played a varying number of matches last summer due to COVID lockdowns and border restrictions.

Each state will also play seven Marsh One-Day Cup games before the final on March 8, while the Women's National Cricket League has been expanded to a full home-and-away season, with the 43-game fixture to run from late September to late February.

Six rounds of the Sheffield Shield will be played before the Big Bash break, five of those before the first Test of the summer to allow some of Australia's Test stars a chance to feature in first class cricket.

The remaining four rounds and final will be played in February-March, while the Marsh Cup Final will be played on March 8th.

The BBL fixtures are yet to be released, but the tournament is slated to start after the day-night Test between Australia and West Indies which runs from December 8-12.



bottom of page