top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

Big Bash confirmed for Perth

Perth cricket fans will get to see some live domestic cricket this summer, after Cricket Australia confirmed five Big Bash fixtures for Optus Stadium in January on Monday.

Perth will play the first of it's four home matches against the Melbourne Renegades on Sunday January 3rd, followed by matches against the Sydney Sixers (6th January), Sydney Thunder (9th January), and Hobart Hurricanes (12th January).

The Brisbane Heat will play against Sydney Thunder in a neutral venue clash on Thursday 7th January, giving Perth cricket lovers the chance to watch five matches in the space of ten days.

Melbourne is also set for a festival of Big Bash action in the second half of January, with 11 matches in 12 days in the city, culminating in a double-header at the MCG on January 26, the final day of the regular season.

Every club will play in front of their home fans this summer providing the public health situation and associated border restrictions remain stable in a huge win for cricket fans around the country.

Sydney will have eight games split between the SCG and the Showgrounds Stadium. The Thunder will play four times at the Showgrounds, while the Sixers have three home games and a clash between the Brisbane Heat and Perth Scorchers will also be held at the venue.

The Sydney and Melbourne based teams will play their final five matches in their home states, after starting the BBL on the road.

The BBL finals series using the same five-team format that was introduced last summer will begin on January 29, with the final to be held on February 6.

CA's Head of Big Bash Leagues, Alastair Dobson, described the BBL fixture as "the boldest schedule in Australian sport since the pandemic began".

"This schedule is a testament to the strength of the League and ensures our fans around the country will get the chance to see their KFC BBL clubs in action on home soil," Dobson said.

The tenth edition of the BBL will commence on 10th December with a clash between the Hobart Hurricanes and the Sydney Sixers at Blundstone Arena.

IMAGE: Perth Scorchers


bottom of page