top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

Cartwright and Edgar awarded WA Cricket's top honours

Hilton Cartwright has been crowned the Lawrie Sawle medallist as WA's best player of the summer.

Cartwright was also awarded the four-day player of the year playing a crucial role in WA winning the Sheffield Shield competition. The hard hitting right handed scored 601 runs at an average of 42.92 notching up two centuries and three half centuries.

He also collected seven wickets across the season with a best bowled of 4/23 against Tasmania.

In addition Cartwright also claimed the Excalibur Award for upholding the teams values of Trust, Commitment and Humility.

Amy Edgar was honoured after securing the Zoe Goss medal as the best player in the women's program.

Edgar enjoyed a career-best campaign that saw her finish as WA’s leading run-scorer (199 runs at 39.80) and second-highest wicket-taker (seven wickets at 29.85) in the WNCL.


AWARD WINNERS Laurie Sawle Medal 1 – Hilton Cartwright (82 votes) 2 – Jhye Richardson (77 votes) 3 – Cam Bancroft (52) Zoë Goss Medal 1 – Amy Edgar (218 votes) 2 – Sophie Devine (187 votes) 3 – Beth Mooney (181 votes) Gold Cup – Mitch Marsh WA Domestic One-Day Player of The Year – Andrew Tye WA Domestic Four-Day Player of the Year – Hilton Cartwright WA WNCL Player of the Year – Amy Edgar Simon Katich Medal – Ashton Agar Perth Scorchers WBBL Player of the Year – Sophie Devine Male Rising Star – Teague Wyllie Female Rising Star – Georgia Wyllie Excalibur Award – Hilton Cartwright Legacy Award – Georgia Wyllie Gallery of Greats Inductees – Zoë Goss, Darryl Foster OAM


bottom of page