top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

Cox inducted into Hall of Fame

Eagles games record holder Dean Cox has been inducted into the Australian Football League Hall of Fame.

Cox played 290 games for West Coast including their 2006 premiership against the Sydney Swans.

The 38-year-old was also named All-Australian ruckman six times.

"I suppose being consistent is the first thing, when you say that number. I wanted to be the best ruck in the competition, so being able to do that for a period was really rewarding for the hard work you put in. But once one season finished, it was about how you could change a part of your game, or maintain the level you're at. You were forever trying to keep ahead of the game as much as possible." Cox said.

Cox reflected on the 2006 flag being the moment of his career.

"We'd played a lot of footy together and started to build chemistry and symmetry and then the belief came. Some of those games we were behind, away from home, got us ready for when we were challenged in big moments. We had players who were, if you look across, probably destined to play in Grand Finals, from their personalities." 

Cox retired in 2014 just three games short of the iconic 300 and could of gone on to reach the milestone but was conscious of not staying on too long.

"I wanted to finish knowing I probably could have kept going – and I didn't want to tarnish what I'd created. I knew what I wanted to do post-footy (coaching) and, at West Coast, there was an opportunity for Scott Lycett to sign up again, and he turned out to be a premiership player. Just to play a certain number of games never really appealed to me."

The agile ruckman was also best on ground in the East Perth's premiership triumph in 2000.


• Played 290 games and scored 169 goals for West Coast: 2001-2014

• Played 26 games and scored nine goals for East Perth (WAFL) 2000-2003

• AFL Premiership player: 2006

• Club Best & Fairest: 2008

• All Australian: 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2011, 2012

• Represented the Dream Team in the Hall of Fame Tribute Match: 2008

• East Perth Premiership Player: 2000

• Simpson Medallist: 2000



bottom of page