top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

Kitchin named state captain

Subiaco premiership player Leigh Kitchin will captain the 2022 Western Australian state side against South Australia on Sunday.

Kitchin has been a constant selection in the state squad since his arrival in WA in 2015, this his seventh match for the Sandgropers and second straight as captain having led the team in Adelaide last season.

He is joined by deputies Fraser McInnes and Matthew Jupp, both selected in the state side for the first time.

Former Eagle McInnes is co-captain at the Demons and has made a terrific start to the season, averaging 19 disposals and two goals per game.

East Fremantle skipper Jupp has been a reliable defender for the Sharks since his debut in 2013, holding down the full back position in a side that has struggled to win games consistently in recent seasons.

Up to 13 players could feature in the state side for the first time, including former Carlton player Angus Schumacher, ex Docker and Eagle Stefan Giro and former Fremantle ruckman Scott Jones.

Cam Shepherd confirmed the squad on Thursday, with Declan Mountford and Blair Bell ruled out due to injury while Brayden Ainsworth, Tom Blechynden, Sam Fisher, Alex Manuel, Jacob Msando and Brynn Teakle missed selection.

“Picking the team has been difficult because we have many players in great form, and some great characters as well,” Shepherd said.

“What makes the team though is the energy and excitement that has been evident from our very first meeting and throughout training. We are well led by Captain Leigh Kitchin and Vice Captains Matthew Jupp and Fraser McInnes,”

High on my agenda as coach has been to reward great players in the WAFL who have built their brand over many years and it’s wonderful to be able to give Ryan Lim, Jesse Turner, Zac Guardanin, Keegan Knott and Noah Strom to name a few the opportunity to represent the state.”

The 2022 state game is on Sunday at Optus Stadium from 12PM, our coverage on 91.3 Sport FM commencing at 11:40 AM.

Squad: Aaron Black, Hamish Brayshaw, Corey Byrne, Lachlan Delahunty, Angus Dewar, Cameron Eardley, Jake Florenca, Stefan Giro, Zac Guadagnin, Chad Harris, Scott Jones, Matthew Jupp, Tyler Keitel, Leigh Kitchin, Keegan Knott, Ryan Lim, Jonathon Marsh, Fraser McInnes, Luke Meadows, Chad Pearson, Noah Pegoraro, Bailey Rogers, Angus Schumacher, Ben Sokol, Noah Strom, Jesse Turner.

IMAGE: The West Australian.


bottom of page