top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

Lakers win NBA title

The Los Angeles Lakers have won the 2019-20 NBA championship, defeating Miami Heat 106-93 in game six to claim their 17th title on Monday (Sunday night USA time).

The championship win sees the Lakers now tied with Boston Celtics for most NBA titles, their first since 2010.

LeBron James starred with 28 points, 14 rebounds and 10 assists, becoming the first player in the competition's history to win three championships with different franchises having previously won with the Cleveland Cavaliers (2016) and the Heat (2012 and 2013) .

James was also Grand Final MVP for a fourth time, having been bestowed the honour in each of his championship winning seasons.

High profile team mate Anthony Davis had 19 points and 15 rebounds and Rajon Rondo (19), Kentavious Caldwell-Pope (17) and Danny Green (11) combined for 47 points.

For Miami, Bam Adebayo scored a team-high 25 points (on 10-for-15 shooting) while Jimmy Butler and Jae Crowder scored 12 points apiece. Duncan Robinson, who scored 10 points, was the only other Heat player to finish in double figures.

Los Angeles led by 28 at the half in game six and were never headed, setting up a comfortable triumph to top off a dominant campaign that saw them finish top of the Western Conference.

The Lakers triumph was tinged with emotion after the death of legendary former player Kobe Bryant in January of this year, killed in a helicopter crash along with his daughter Gigi.


bottom of page