top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

NBL reveals round five schedule

The Perth Wildcats will get a chance at retribution against South East Melbourne Phoenix, meeting the second year franchise twice as part of round five of the NBL fixtures released on Wednesday.

Having had their matches against New Zealand Breakers postponed because of Western Australia's five day lockdown that forced the reigning champions to relocate to New South Wales, the Wildcats will meet the Phoenix on Thursday February 11th and Sunday February 14th at Victoria's State Basketball Centre, the third and fourth time the clubs will meet in NBL21.

Perth are first set to play Melbourne United in Bendigo on Sunday as part of round four after being given an exemption to travel to Victoria under strict quarantine conditions that will only allow the team to train and play over a 14 day period.

Round five will mark the return of basketball to New South Wales for the first time this season as The Hawks and the Sydney Kings host their first home games of NBL21.

The Hawks, who’ve enjoyed their best start to a season since 2013, will return to the WIN Entertainment Centre on Wednesday February 10 when they host Melbourne United in a top of the table clash between the only two undefeated teams.

The Kings will host a blockbuster double header at Qudos Bank Arena, starting on Friday February 12 when they meet the SKY Sport New Zealand Breakers before playing The Hawks for the first time this season on Sunday February 14.

Melbourne United will play Cairns in Bendigo and the Brisbane Bullets will host the Adelaide 36ers at Nissan Arena before a return game against the 36ers at the Adelaide Entertainment Centre.

“We’re delighted to be able to host the first games this season in New South Wales. This is a great result for the Kings and The Hawks as well as the many fans in both cities. The two teams will also play the first NSW derby of the season at Qudos Bank Arena," NBL Commissioner Jeremy Loeliger said.

“This will be the final round of games before the NBL Cup starts in Melbourne on February 20 when all nine teams will play 36 games in what will be the biggest event we have staged. At the end of the NBL Cup teams will return to their home cities to complete the season.”

Round four begins on Friday night with Brisbane hosting Melbourne United at Nissan Arena.

IMAGE: NBL website.


bottom of page