top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

Queensland win Origin series

Queensland has completed a remarkable series victory over New South Wales in the 2020 state of origin decider, winning 20-14 to claim their first SOO title since 2017 at Suncorp Stadium on Wednesday night.

First half tries to Valentine Holmes and Edrick Lee, either side of an opportunistic score from James Tedesco, gave the Maroons their first half time lead of the series.

New South Wales' chances were dealt a severe blow when captain Tedesco was forced from the field mid-way through the first half with a head knock.

Cameron Munster himself ruled out early in game two with a head knock of his own underlined his importance to Queensland with a magnificent performance in the key playmaking role, winning the Wally Lewis medal as player of the series.

The Maroons dominated the second half but only had a Holmes penalty to show for it until debutant Harry Grant stretched over to give the hosts a 14-point lead.

Daniel Tupou hit back for the Blues down the left as the visitors finally put together an effective set in the Queensland half.

Cleary then hit a penalty to make it a one-score game with seven minutes remaining, setting up a dramatic finish.

Try as they might the Blues could not breach the Maroons line in the dying stages as the Maroons hung on for a stunning victory.

It was Queensland's first series win over the Blues since 2017, and veteran coach Wayne Bennett's first triumph as Maroons coach since 2001 having returned to the role this year, replacing Kevin Walters.

IMAGE: The Australian.

bottom of page