top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

Richardson misses out, Inglis is in CA contracts

West Aussie quick Jhye Richardson has been left out of Cricket Australia's 20-player contracted squad list for the upcoming 12-months.

Richardson is currently nursing a hamstring injury that ruled him out of WA's side that defeated Victoria in the Sheffield Shield final.

Marcus Harris, Moises Henriques, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson Ashton Turner and Matthew Wade all did not receive contracts and James Pattinson has retired from international cricket.

Wicketkeeper Josh Inglis has been awarded full contract status recently touring Pakistan as the back up keeper in the squad.

National Chairman of Selectors George Bailey said it had been a terrific 12-months for the Australian squad.

“We believe this group provide us great coverage and versatility across all formats while others, as we saw in the past year, will continue to get opportunities to play a big part."

“To contract just 20 players was challenging given the number of key series and the cycle of upcoming T20 and one-day World Cups, all of which will require varying skill sets and combinations.”

Contracted players list 2022-23.

Ashton Agar (WA/University Cricket Club), Scott Boland (VIC/Frankston Peninsula Cricket Club), Alex Carey (SA/Glenelg Cricket Club), Pat Cummins (NSW/Penrith Cricket Club), Aaron Finch (VIC/Geelong Cricket Club), Cameron Green (WA/Subiaco-Floreat Cricket Club), Josh Hazlewood (NSW/St George Cricket Club), Travis Head (SA/Tea Tree Gully Cricket Club), Josh Inglis (WA/Joondalup Cricket Club), Usman Khawaja (QLD/Valley District Cricket Club), Marnus Labuschagne (QLD/Redlands Cricket Club), Nathan Lyon (NSW/Northern District Cricket Club), Mitchell Marsh (WA/Fremantle Cricket Club), Glenn Maxwell (VIC/Fitzroy Doncaster Cricket Club), Steve Smith (NSW/Sutherland Cricket Club), Mitchell Starc (NSW/Manly Warringah Cricket Club), Marcus Stoinis (WA/Subiaco Floreat Cricket Club), Mitchell Swepson (QLD/Sandgate-Redcliffe District Cricket Club), David Warner (NSW/Randwick Petersham Cricket Club), Adam Zampa (NSW/Sutherland Cricket Club).

Players not awarded contracts as part of the initial squad of 20 can earn upgrades throughout the year by accruing 12 upgrade points. Players receive five points for a Test match, two for a One-Day International and one for a T20 International.



bottom of page