top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

Three West Aussies included in Test squad to India

Australia have announced an 18-player squad to tour the sub continent that includes a four man spin attack.

West Aussie Ashton Agar will tour alongside Nathan Lyon, uncapped Victorian off-spinner Todd Murphy and Queenslander leg-spinner Mitchell Swepson.

Murphy has claimed 14 wickets in three Sheffield Shield matches this season.

WA have two other starters in the squad all-rounder Cameron Green and quick Lance Morris has also been included.

Wicketkeeper Josh Inglis missed out on the touring squad with Peter Handscomb selected as number one a batsman but can also take the gloves as required.

Chairman of Selectors George Bailey said the squad chosen offered options in various settings.

“Peter Handscomb deserves his place back in the squad,” Bailey said. “His domestic form has been strong recently and Pete has proven he can perform at Test level.

“His experience against spin on the subcontinent is valuable and he is also an exceptionally good close to the wicket catcher.

“Ashton Agar continues to impress following his comeback in Sydney and we believe left-arm finger spin will play an important role in Indian conditions.

“Mitchell Swepson has recent Test experience in the sub-continent and offers leg-spinning variety.

“Todd Murphy has progressed quickly having impressed in domestic cricket and recently with Australia A. With those performances Todd has emerged as a strong spin option."


Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cam Green, Josh Hazlewood, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc**, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

**Starc will join the squad after the first Test in Nagpur.

IMAGE: Getty Images


bottom of page