top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

Thunder win WAFLW Grand Final

Peel Thunder has recorded consecutive WAFLW premierships, defeating Swan Districts by 21 points at Rushton Park on Sunday.

In front of more than 3000 people Peel prevailed in a hard fought encounter, pushing away from the minor premiers in the final term to win 5.6 (36) to 2.3 (15).

Kira Phillips starred with three goals for the Thunder, while Dockers listed player Sabreena Duffy won the Lou Knitter Medal as best afield.

Peel kicked the first goal of the game thanks to Kate Bartlett and soon after the Thunder had the hot start when Phillips kicked truly.

They would prove to be the only two goals of the opening quarter but Swan Districts did open the second term with a goal from Bianca Webb.

It proved to be the only goal of the quarter with Peel going into half-time with a nine-point edge.

Swan Districts needed to fire in the third quarter but it was Peel who got the first goal thanks to a clever effort at the top of the goal square from Bartlett as she snapped through her second to the delight of the home fans.

Swans stayed just in touch with a lucky toe poked goal from Mikayla Hyde just before three quarter-time, trailing by 7 points with a quarter to play.

That set the stage for a big finish in the Grand Final but it was all the Thunder in the final term with Swans not managing to score.

Phillips kicked two more goals for Peel and saw them go on to win by 21 points and secure the back-to-back premierships.

Earlier in the day West Perth thumped South Fremantle by 57 points in the Rogers Cup Grand Final, while Peel had further reasons to celebrate with a come from behind win over East Fremantle in the reserves.

IMAGE: The Inner Sanctum.


bottom of page