top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

Two West Aussies in Under 19's squad

Young gun's Cooper Connolly and Teague Wyllie's talents have been recognised, selected in the Australian under 19's squad for next year's Under 19 World Cup in the Caribbean.

Connolly featured in the previous edition of the tournament in South Africa in early 2020, and is a chance to captain the side in next year's tournament which starts in mid-January.

The left hander is currently recovering from a broken thumb but is expected to be fit for the tournament, Australia's first game against West Indies on January 14th before matches against Sri Lanka (January 17th) and Scotland (January 19th).

Young opening batsman Wyllie has been rewarded for outstanding form for both Rockingham-Mandurah and the WA 2nd XI, having made centuries in fixtures against South Australia and Tasmania, making 153 and 38 not out against the Tigers in a Futures League match that concluded last week.

Speaking to Sports Breakfast on Wednesday, Wyllie was excited for the opportunity to represent his country.

"It's a great moment, especially to share it with Coops (Cooper Connolly), we actually went on the inaugural under 12's tour when we were eleven or twelve, so it was pretty cool to find out that we were going on a tour of the Carribean together." he said.

The 18 year old said he hasn't given thoughts to a first class debut in the second half of the season.

"I'd definitely take the opportunity to play for WA, but I don't try and set my sights on it too much," Wyllie said.

"It's out of my control whether I get picked or not, all I control is every time I got out there and bat is trying to make runs and bat time.

"If the opportunity comes I'm going to take it with both hands. In the mean time I will just try to score runs."

Wyllie is expected to open the batting or bat at three for the tournament, with Connolly set for a middle order role.

IMAGE: Rockingham-Mandurah Cricket Club.

Australia men's U19 World Cup squad: Harkirat Bajwa (VIC), Aidan Cahill (NSW), Cooper Connolly (WA), Joshua Garner (VIC), Isaac Higgins (SA), Campbell Kellaway (VIC), Corey Miller (NSW), Jack Nisbet (NSW), Nivethan Radhakrishnan (TAS), William Salzmann (NSW), Lachlan Shaw (NSW), Jackson Sinfield (QLD), Tobias Snell (QLD), Tom Whitney (QLD), Teague Wyllie (WA).

bottom of page