top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

WA names squad for Marsh Cup clash

Western Australia has included four potential debutants in it's 13 man squad named to face South Australia in it's first Marsh One Day Cup match of the summer, Claremont-Nedlands duo Nick Hobson and Bradley Hope a chance to play their first matches in state colours.

The pair have rewarded for their stellar form in WA Premier Cricket, Hobson fresh off a century in the Tigers sixth consecutive 50 over title on Sunday.

In all the left-hander has made 1115 runs for the summer to date, including five centuries and four fifties to win a call up to the state squad.

All-rounder Hope has been another consistent contributor at first grade level, scoring 723 runs at 55.92 and claiming 27 wickets at 18.22 to bang the door down for an opportunity at domestic level.

Former New South Wales all-rounder Charlie Stobo has also been included in the squad, the uncontracted 25 year old the standout contributor at University this summer with 393 runs at 24.56 and 23 wickets at 24.13 having crossed from over east during the winter after three first class games and two List A games for New South Wales.

Liam Guthrie is another left arm pace option vying for a spot in the final XI along with Stobo, a chance to debut after playing eleven first class matches including Sunday's pulsating draw against the Redbacks.

Former Queenslander Cameron Gannon is likely to play his first match in the canary yellow, having already represented Western Australia in Sheffield Shield cricket.

Hilton Cartwright was not available for selection due to a back injury, while Matt Kelly has been rested ahead of the next Sheffield Shield match against Queensland starting Saturday.

Shaun Marsh will captain the side in the absence of younger brother Mitchell and vice-captain Ashton Turner, who remain in New Zealand with the squad for the T20 series that resumes on Wednesday.

SQUAD: Shaun Marsh (c), Cameron Bancroft, Cameron Green, Liam Guthrie, Aaron Hardie, Nick Hobson, Bradley Hope, Josh Inglis, Liam O'Connor, Joel Paris, Charlie Stobo, Sam Whiteman.

IMAGE: Sporting News.


bottom of page