top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

WA Premier Cricket Grand Finalists decided

The grand finals of WACA Premier Cricket are set after some big wins in last weekend’s semi finals.

Bayswater-Morley are through to the season decider, dumping minor premiers Willetton out in straight sets with a 125 run win at Burrendah Park.

The visitors won the toss and batted but the Dragons made a positive start to the ball, reducing them to 4 for 63 before patient efforts from Todd brothers Aaron (66 from 158 balls) and Mitchell (61 from 183 balls) got them to a total of 7 for 217 from their 90 overs.

Veteran Matt Hanna put in a big effort with the ball, picking up 3 for 67 from his 24 overs, with Oliver Arkinstall (2/25 from 13 overs) and Zach Ferris (1/26 from 14 overs) also in the wickets.

In reply, the hosts failed to reach triple figures for their third consecutive final, with only Blair Walsh (23* from 77 balls) and skipper Kallen Bond (27 from 40 balls) showing any resistance in their effort of 92 from 43.3 overs.

Jonty Wilde continued an excellent finals series for the Bears with 5 for 31 from his 20 overs, with able support from Ashley Jeffrey (3/23 from 9 overs), Liam O’Connor (1/7 from 1.3 overs), and captain Kyle Wiggers (1/29 from 13 overs).

Perth have come from sixth to book their grand final place with a 151 run win over Midland-Guildford at Lilac Hill.

The Demons won the toss and batted and found themselves in early trouble at 2 for 13, but quickly went to work in posting another massive score of 4 for 375 from their 90 overs.

Captain Jono Wells led the way again with a masterful 155* from 231 balls, as Joel Curtis (75 from 153 balls) and Sean Roberts (73 from 108 balls) shone in supporting roles.

Despite handy efforts from James Godfrey (67 from 131 balls) and Tom Beaton (43 from 81 balls), the Black Ducks never seriously threatened their target, ending up at 224 from 76.3 overs.

Spinner Connor Blaxall-Hall continued an excellent season with 3 for 91 from 26.3 overs as Wells (2/40 from 12 overs) capped off his weekend with some late wickets.

The Bears and the Demons will meet in the grand final at Lilac Hill this weekend, with both clubs having endured lengthy droughts between 1st grade titles.

In the lower grades, Willetton will take on Midland-Guildford at Cresswell Park in the 2nd grade grand final while Abbett Park will host the 3rd grade grand final between Willetton and Wanneroo and the 4th grade final between Subiaco-Floreat and Rockingham-Mandurah.


bottom of page