top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

WAFL launches new start date

The WAFL season has been brought forward to July 18 following the State Governments announcement that large gathering restrictions will be eased from this Saturday.

All group gathering restrictions will cease as of the WAFL commence start date meaning no limit of fans will be able to head to matches.

The condensed season format will remain the same as previously agreed to by the WAFL Clubs, with every team to play each other once across nine rounds and the top four teams on the ladder to compete in a three-week Finals Series.

The Grand Final will be played on the first weekend in October, with the winner to be awarded the 2020 Optus WAFL Premiership Cup. Individual awards, including the Sandover Medal, will also be presented.

The WAFL Reserves and Simply Energy Colts competitions will also start on July 18.

Round 1 Fixtures

Saturday, July 18

South Fremantle v East Fremantle – Fremantle Community Bank Oval

Swan Districts v West Perth – Steel Blue Oval

Subiaco v Claremont – Leederville Oval

Peel Thunder v Perth – David Grays Arena

Bye: East Perth



bottom of page