top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

Warner and Perry win highest honours

David Warner and Ellyse Perry have been recognised for their outstanding performances over the past twelve months at the Australian Cricket awards on Monday night.

Warner won the Allan Border Medal as the best performed Australian men's player over the past twelve months accross all three formats, while Perry won the Belinda Clark Medal after another outstanding year in the women's game.

33 year old Warner won the AB Medal for a third time, having previously won in 2016 and 2017. It caps off a stunning return to the Australian side, having been suspended for 12 months for his role in the ball tampering saga in Cape Town in March 2018.

He returned to the Australian side with a vengeance, scoring four centuries in the 2019 World Cup before a lean Ashes in England had his spot in the side up for debate.

He responded in emphatic fashion back in home conditions against New Zealand and Pakistan, scoring three tons in the 2019-20 home Test summer including 335* against Pakistan in Adelaide, the second highest score by an Australian in Tests.

Warner (194 votes) edged out Steve Smith by one vote for the award, Pat Cummins finishing third with 185 votes.

Marnus Labuschagne was named male Test player of the year to cap his meteoric rise, while ODI captain Aaron Finch won the male ODI player of the year after a dominant year in coloured clothing.

Perry capped off a golden twelve months by winning her third Belinda Clark Medal in four years, the all-rounder playing a vital role in Australia's Ashes retaining triumph in the UK last winter.

She narrowly pipped wicketkeeper Alyssa Healy for the honour, who claimed the T20 and ODI female player of the year awards.

In other awards Tayla Vlaeminck (Betty Wilson Young Female Cricketer of the Year) and Wes Agar (Bradman Young Male Cricketer of the of the Year) were recognised as young rising stars of Australian cricket, while Molly Strano and Shaun Marsh took out the Domestic Player of the Year awards.

Sharon Tredrea and Craig McDermott were inducted in to the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame.



bottom of page