top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

WBBL to be played in Sydney

The 2020-21 Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) will be played entirely in a Sydney hub, commencing on Sunday October 25th.

All 59 games will be played in New South Wales, in a bio secure bubble with all franchises based in the state for the duration of the tournament due to the travel restrictions imposed by states because of COVID-19.

Alistair Dobson, the head of Big Bash Leagues, confirmed that work was underway to enable overseas players to take part in the tournament.

"We want to thank the NSW Government for their willingness to work together to deliver the WBBL|06 competition in Sydney," Dobson said.

"We are incredibly proud to deliver a full season of rebel WBBL|06 and would like to thank the NSW Government, our partners States & Territories Associations, the Australian Cricketers' Association as well as - in particular Cricket NSW - for rallying together at this challenging time to deliver a safe and successful tournament.

The WBBL becomes the first part of the Australian domestic season to be reworked and slotted into place. Fixtures, venues and broadcast times, plus details of biosecure arrangements will be released in the coming weeks.

The Brisbane Heat are the reigning champions of the WBBL, having won their second title in as many seasons in December of last year.

The Australian Women’s team begin their international summer later this month when they play New Zealand in three T20I’s and 3 ODI’s, having not played since their T20 World Cup triumph in March of this year.

IMAGE: Cricket Australia.


bottom of page