top of page
  • Writer's pictureJohn Townsend

Wednesday WAFL: Top 40 2024

Greg Clark has a point to make.

Best on ground and a Simpson Medal winner in his last match for Subiaco, the grand final victory over South Fremantle in 2021, Clark has since had a frustrating two years at West Coast during the lowest ebb in the club’s history.

His 21 Eagles matches were all losses – setting a record unlikely but not impossible to be beaten in the near future – which led to an unsurprising delisting at the end of last year.

But Clark’s return to the Lions, and rapid elevation to the captaincy, could inspire him to reach a new level of performance this year.

Clark is now 26, has 105 WAFL matches and those 21 AFL games under his belt, and is poised to reach the peak of his powers this season. He will wear No.1 for Subiaco this year and has also been adjudged by WAFL radio station SportFM as the No.1 player in the league.

Clark’s leadership skills, ball-hunting prowess and ability to impose himself on matches makes him

the league’s most influential player this year and takes him to the pinnacle of the SportFM top 40 list.

Clark is the most prominent of 12 delisted AFL players who will be in action in the WAFL this year and one of 23 new names on the list.

They include his Subiaco team-mates Luke Foley, Taj Schofield and Jack Mayo while four members of East Fremantle’s premiership team last season have been included for the first time.

Livewire Shark Milan Murdock and premiership captain Matthew Jupp, the most miserly and committed defender in league ranks, were recognised for their substantial roles in the club’s success. Ruckman Brynn Teakle, who may have a short stint in WAFL ranks if he is picked up in the midseason rookie draft in May, is East Fremantle’s highest ranked player with the energetic Jono Marsh in second place. Marsh’s brother Harry was retained but dropped to No.40 because of questions over his availability this season after significant hamstring surgery on the eve of the first match.

Three Sandover medallists are included in the top 10 though WA ruckman Olly Eastland is ranked ahead of his medal-winning team-mates Bailey Rogers and Jye Bolton.

Reigning Sandover medallist Hamish Brayshaw is a key to East Perth’s prospects this season though he could not dislodge Clark and West Perth pair Tyler Keitel and Luke Meadows from the top rungs of the list.

Players were ranked on their form and impact last season, an assessment of their likely role and value to their team this year, as well as the threat they provide to opposition sides.

Every team had at least one selection with the last three premiers, East Fremantle, West Perth and Subiaco, taking up half the selections.

Only seven of the 12 delisted AFL players were named.

Selecting recently delisted AFL players is often a fraught exercise because they have to come to terms with the move to the lower level while dealing with employment and life challenges that are often not part of the AFL environment.


Top 40 WAFL players in 2024


No.   Name                  Club    Last year                    

1 Greg Clark               S          AFL

2 Tyler Keitel              WP      2

3 Luke Meadows        WP      3

4 Hamish Brayshaw    EP       8

5 Olly Eastland           C         new

6 Brynn Teakle           EF       AFL

7 Bailey Rogers          C         4

8 Jon Marsh                EF       9

9 Jye Bolton                C         1

10 Jesse Turner           SD       15

11 Milan Murdock      EF       new

12 Matthew Jupp        EF       new

13 Angus Schumacher EP      32

14 Mitch Crowden      EP       11

15 Luke Foley             S          AFL

16 Scott Jones             EP       16

17 Aiden Clarke          SD       26

18 Leigh Kitchin         S          18

19 Trey Ruscoe           WC      AFL

20 Haiden Schloithe   SF        new

21 Taj Schofield         S          new

22 Nic Rokhar             SD       new

23 Ben Sokol              S          5

24 Connor West          WP      AFL

25 Alec Waterman      C         12

26 Scott Simpson        P          AFL

27 Cody Leggett         EF       new

28 Shane Nelson         WP      10

29 Noah Pegoraro       WP      new

30 Charlie Thompson  P          new

31 Matt Parker            SF        new

32 Liam Hickmott      S          new

33 Aaron Black           WP      20

34 Jacob Blight           PT       new

35 Fraser Turner         EF       new

36 Anthony Davis       C         new

37 Charlie Constable  P          AFL

38 Jack Mayo              S          new

39 Mitch Schofield     EP       new

40 Harry Marsh           EF       14


IMAGE: Supplied




bottom of page