top of page
  • Writer's pictureSportFM

Wines wins Brownlow Medal

Port Adelaide midfielder Ollie Wines has made history, becoming the first Power player to win the game's highest individual honour in claiming the 2021 Brownlow Medal on Sunday night.

Wines, who entered the count as a narrow favourite to win the award, polled 36 votes, to claim the medal ahead of Western Bulldogs captain Marcus Bontempelli.

Melbourne star Clayton Oliver finished third, with 31 votes, ahead of Carlton's Sam Walsh on 30. It was the first time four players have polled 30 or more votes in a season.

Wines also made history by becoming Port Adelaide's first Brownlow winner, the first player to ever poll in 16 rounds (including 11 of the last 12). He also managed to tie Dustin Martin's 36 vote mark, set back in 2017.

"It was a great count, obviously Bont's a tremendous player," Wines said. "I'm a little bit rattled to be honest. It's a privilege to win it (the Brownlow)."

For the second year, COVID-19 impacted heavily on the award.

The Demons and Bulldogs were at Optus Stadium, but watched the count in separate rooms away from the main function. There was also a function in Brisbane and other players in Melbourne were shown on video links during the count.

Also on Sunday night, Fremantle's Caleb Serong won goal of the year and Richmond star Shai Bolton was awarded mark of the year.

Dom Sheed (West Coast) and Dockers veteran David Mundy finished as the leading vote getters for their respective clubs.

IMAGE: News Limited.


bottom of page